FORMULA (A THOR frame program)

  • Bjarklev, Anders Overgaard (Project Manager)
  • Broeng, Jes (Project Participant)
  • Libori, Stig E. Barkou (Project Participant)
  • Dyndgaard, Morten Glarborg (Project Participant)
  • Søndergaard, Thomas (Project Participant)
  • Dridi, Kim (Project Participant)
  • Berendt, Martin Ole (Project Participant)
  • Philipsen, Jacob Lundgreen (Project Participant)

Project Details


At research Center COM we have since the beginning of 1998 been working on the STVF supported frame program FORMULA - under the THOR-frame.
The key element of this program is the development of new optical waveguide components for future multi-wavelength optical communications systems. A central part of this program/project during 1999 has been the research and development of erbium-doped fibre and planar waveguide components with specific focus on the combined aspects of active material and laser cavity formations using illumination by ultraviolet light. Key results of this research are describes in publications concerning more fundamental properties of erbium clustering, but also in more component oriented results described in other published papers. A detailed description of these aspects and their overall relation to the research area are presented in the PhD thesis of Martin Ole Berendt and Jacob Phillipsen.
Another central research activity within the THOR-project-frame has been the photonic crystal waveguides. Based on a fundamental work on vectorial electromagnetic modelling, which was initiated in the previousyears, COM has reached a world leading position concerning the modelling and design of photonic crystal fibres. This has resulted in several invited papers at international conferences, and a number of research papers describing the latest development within this new field. Several patent applications have also been filed within this field by researchers at COM during 1999.
Effective start/end date01/01/199831/12/2002


Explore the research topics touched on by this project. These labels are generated based on the underlying awards/grants. Together they form a unique fingerprint.